Elevating Excellence & Transforming
Institutional Culture.
Other Key Personnel

Senior Sponsors

Highly productive Vanderbilt faculty will serve as Senior Sponsors who will proactively nominate, recommend, and advance V-FIRST faculty to support their paths to independence, promotion, and tenure.

  • Aliyu Muktar, MBBS, DrPh (Health Policy)
  • Dominique Behague, PhD (Medicine, Health, and Society)
  • Jada Benn Torres, PhD (Anthropology)
  • Walter Chazin, PhD (Biochemistry)
  • Roger Colbran, PhD (Molecular Physiology and Biophysics)
  • Laurie Cutting, PhD (Special Ed)
  • Mark Denison, MD (Pediatrics)
  • Manus Donahue, PhD (Radiology)
  • Brandt Eichman, PhD (Biological Sci)
  • Kathy Friedman, PhD (Biological Sci)
  • Rene Gifford, MD (Hearing and Speech)
  • Paul Harris, PhD (Biomedical Informatics)
  • Tina Iverson, PhD (Pharmacology)
  • Ege Kavalali, PhD (Pharmacology)
  • Doug McMahon, PhD (Biological Sci)
  • Houra Merrikh, PhD (Biochemitry)
  • Jeff Rathmell, PhD (Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology)
  • Ann Richmond, PhD (Pharmacology)
  • Antonis Rokas, PhD (Biological Sci)
  • Christianne Roumie, MD (Medicine)
  • Chuck Sanders, PhD (Biochemistry)
  • Henrique Serezani, PhD (Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology)
  • Digna Velez-Edwards, PhD (Obstetrics)
  • Taylor Warren, MD, MHSc (Psychiatry)
  • Duane Watson, PhD (Psychological Sciences)
  • Lorraine Ware, MD (Medicine)


NextGen Mentors

Next Generation (NextGen) Mentors are late-early mid-career faculty members who are a strong upward trajectory and who will support V-FIRST faculty by providing guidance.

  • Jennifer Below, PhD (Medicine)
  • Ray Blind, PhD (Medicine)
  • Mariana Byndloss, PhD (Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology)
  • Erin Calipari, PhD (Pharmacology)
  • Lea Davis, PhD (Medicine)
  • Vivian Gama, PhD (Cell and Developmental Biology)
  • Ivelin Georgiev, PhD (Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology)
  • Carlos Grijalva, MD, MPH (Health Policy)
  • Timothy, Hohman, PhD (Neurology)
  • Kathryn Humphreys, PhD (Psychology & Human Dev)
  • Rebecca Ihrie, PhD (Cell and Developmental Biology)
  • Lauren Jackson, PhD (Biological Sci)
  • Autumn Kujawa, PhD (Psychological Sciences)
  • Meena Madhur, MD, PhD (Clin Pharm)
  • Marjan Rafat, PhD (Biomedical Engineering)